Team Roles and Contractors

Assign team members to eSignature and permission role groups

👍

This page applies to DataNinja tenants integrated with NetSuite or QuickBooks Online, and to tenants with no finance system integration. The workflow in DataNinja is the same across integrations; where a financial system changes behavior, the integration-specific note calls it out.

Items that are synced with an integration will show the relevant integration's logo. Screenshots on this page may show the NetSuite logo, but tenants integrated with QuickBooks Online will see that logo instead. Tenants with no financial integration won't see any logo.

Team Roles are used to control:

  1. Which people have authorization to complete a Manufacturing or Incoming Inspection Approval Step with their electronic signature.
    1. Example:
      Anyone one who is assigned to the "Production Admin" role can e-sign for the Manufacture signature of a batch. After their e-signature, a person in the role of "Quality" must e-sign before the batch is released.
  2. Permissions. Any team member assigned to a specific role will receive all permissions associated with the role.
    1. Example:
      Members of the "Admin" role have full permission to make changes in DataNinja.
  3. Site Navigation
    1. Example:
      Members of the "Contractor" role cannot see nor navigate to the Shipping page in DataNinja.
  4. Monetary Adjustment Limitations
    1. Example:
      Members of the "Production Team" role cannot make adjustments that have a monetary value greater than $100.

DataNinja recommends having all desired Team Roles set up (or at least existing on the Team Roles page) before setting up Permissions.


Recommended Roles

Recommended Role NameRecommended Role Permission ActivitiesCreated by Default?
AdminUsers in this role should be able to do everything. These are power users ONLY.Yes
Quality ControlRecommended to be used as a high-level role which allows individuals to change expiration dates and release statuses as well as configure all master data.No
ReceivingAllow individuals to receive and print against pre-defined Purchase OrdersNo
Inventory ControlUsers in this role should have permissions to preform cycle counts, inventory adjustments, transfers, and scrap transactions.No
ShippingAllow shipping transactions against pre-defined Sales OrdersNo
Production AdminUsers in this role should be able to schedule manufacturing records and create Work Orders.Yes
ProductionIndividuals in this role should have permission for recording transacted parts and produced quantity. Additionally this role should have permissions for process step attribute completion.No
MFG QC InspectorIn-process QC and Approval Step Electronic Signature required role.No
Yellow EscalationSupervisor OverrideYes
Red EscalationManager OverrideYes

Creating a New Team Role

To open the Team Roles page, click on the gear icon in the top right, then select 'Team Roles' in the Settings column.

On the Team Roles page, select the "Add Role" button at the top right of your screen. Then specify the name of the role, set an adjustment limit, and add any necessary users to the role before hitting "Save". You can have any number of Team Roles, and can delete any manually created roles.

By default, the 'Admin', 'Equipment Service Alerts', 'Production Admin', 'RedEscalation', and 'YellowEscalation' Team Roles should already exist, and cannot be deleted, nor can an adjustment limit be added to these roles.

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356


Adding a Team Member to an Existing Role

From the Team Roles page, double click the Role the team member should be added to, or click "Edit" in the Actions column.

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

In the "Users in Role" field, start typing a member's name and select them from the dropdown to assign a team member to the role selected. Specify if the role is for Contractors (or if you want the role to have limited site access) or not, then hit "Save".

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356


Contractor Settings

If a role has "Yes" selected under "Is Contractor", you can selectively control what users in the role can see and do within your DataNinja site. These settings will show up in the "Edit Role" aside.

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Can Use Site Navigation

If "No" is selected, then users in this role will not see any options other than "Sign Out" when they click on the gear icon in the top right.

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Can Use Site Search

This determines whether the search icon is visible in the top bar, so users in the role can search within the site.

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Users in Role

By default, all menus in the lefthand sidebar are visible, but if you click "Configure Hidden Menus" you can select which menus you want to hide from users in the role.

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356


Smart Security Controls

Access is proactively controlled even if contractors try to use a direct link.

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

Screencap from v4.21.264.356

📘

Works with connected orders

Use the order "Division" field so contractors only see orders pertinent to their company.